Always Come Back

There's always something to do in your own backyard, grab a Glass of Rose. I'll be here

Parking Lot Safety

Leave a comment

When you have a child you dread parking lots.  If you have more than one I bet the dread is doubled or tripled.

Picture this scenario a moment  … it may or may not have happened to me … ok whom I kidding it totally has:

Your hands are usually full or pushing a loaded shopping cart, that has one wheel not working properly causing you to continually veer left .  You are left to counter the drifting cart with your precious groceries from Costco or SuperStore by throwing your whole body behind the cart.  Your 3 year old has decided she is too big to sit in a cart and you are THAT parent yelling at your kid to “Get over here and stay beside me Now!” as she darts towards your car and you have 3 seconds where you can’t see them.   Scares the daylights out of me.

We have implemented the SAFETY SPOT   The gas tank cover now acts as the Safety Spot.

Little A knows she has to go touch the gas tank cover and CONTINUE touching this safety spot when we are near our car getting in or out.  I know exactly where she is at all times.  She touches the spot while I grab anything I need from the car before locking up.  She isn’t running round the car, or leaving when my back is turned.

What parent hasn’t accidentally bonked their child in the head with the car door because the little kid moves so fast.  Our safety spot has reduced this risk, accompanying guilt and several goose-eggs .

When we are parallel parked she can run from the park to the car and stays with her hand on the safety spot.  It isn’t that I take my eyes off her but there is now trust and a bit of independence.

Image

Author: alwayscomeback

Mom of one daughter, always looking for activities and things to do in Vancouver with my family. Check out F.A.B on facebook too

Leave a Reply

